Forum: General / Tap / Tap

Fell hard practicing tap turns, scared to try again...
By messedame
On Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:05 PM

Hey guys, so I've been dancing jazz and ballet for about 6 months. I recently started tap two weeks ago, and I love it.

I may have gone a little too fast though. I've been very anxious to try the cool turns they do in tap, so I tried a regular single pirouette a few times and did it great.

Then today I did a small one and my tap shoe on the supporting leg slipped behind me and I fell, catching myself with my hands, mainly the left hand. My left wrist hurts very bad and is swollen and bruised.

This may sound dumb, but now I'm sort of scared to try a turn again in tap shoes...I don't want to give up though. Ugh. Idk.

(Btw I'm not as stupid as you may think, I learned to do a pirouette a month and a half ago and practice it a lot. But it was dumb for me to try in my house alone. Also I don't take any tap classes, I can't afford any more right now.)

4 Replies to Fell hard practicing tap turns, scared to try again...

re: Fell hard practicing tap turns, scared to try again... (karma: 1)
By AlwaysOnStagePremium member
On Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:57 AM
My best recommendation is to not try turns at home while your wrist still hurts, and to not try it again in tap shoes for a while, and to not try skills you haven't learned in class at home!

Get used to pirouettes in ballet/jazz shoes, which gives you more friction and more ability to correct mid-turn. The reduced friction of tap shoes amplifies each mistake in placement, so when you start to get off...you get off BIG. The fun part is that when you have your balance perfectly placed, you don't have friction holding you back from turning and turning and turning!