Forum: Irish / Irish - Dressmakers & Costumers

Irish - Dressmakers & Costumers
The Evolution of a solo dress (karma: 3)  en>fr fr>en
By mrs_millyComments: 109, member since Mon May 30, 2011
On Tue Nov 20, 2012 07:11 AM

Now that my DD dress is finished and she has had a chance to debut it at Oireachtas I thought it would be fun to post about the evolution and process of her dress. Maybe it will be helpful to someone else starting or contemplating starting their own dress. I am not a professional, I'm just a mom who felt confident enough in my sewing to attempt a solo dress.

This has been a very long process for us. I started about a year ago researching current styles and dress construction so I could begin to come up with ideas for my daughter's dress. The dress designing alone took months and months of trial and error. I have well over 100 different designs and variations that didn't make the cut. Eventually I came up with a dress that my daughter, her TC and I all liked. Ironically my daughter was the hardest one to please. I thought it would be her TC but he actually liked quite a few of my designs.

Once the design was decided on, I had the daunting task of turning my 2D design into a 3 dimension dress. I started by making a replica of my daughter's torso. I knew I would be working on the dress at times when my daughter was in bed or not around and I needed some way to fit and try things out on even when she wasn't around. I made the "dress form" of my daughter using saran wrap and duct tape but it would have been easier and just as good with a t-shirt like this website describes www.threadsmagazine.com . . .