Forum: Irish / Irish - Teachers and Assistants

How to get training for the TCRG?
By irishstep
On Tue Dec 11, 2012 09:46 PM

Hi everyone

I love this site and so glad it was recommended to me. I have begun thinking about a career change which would involve me pursuing my certification to teach ISD. I have about 12 years of dancing experience and have competed in the New England Oireachtas 3 times. I was fortunate to place in all of them and in my first Oireachtas I placed fifth. My competition was very fierce. My school took, 1,2,4,5,6 and several other placements. I am taking Irish Dancing again, with the school I grew up with, and I am wondering if it is appropriate for me to ask them to train me for my certification. I am a pretty good dancer even now after 25 years of being out of it. I am having some trouble with some of the new moves, double whips, standing on toes etc. If anyone has any advice for me I would love to hear it.

Thanks,
Nancy
aka irish step.

6 Replies to How to get training for the TCRG?

re: How to get training for the TCRG?
By blondcat
On Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:04 PM
It was my understanding that you needed to be sponsored/mentored by another TCRG/ADRG to become one. So asking the TCRG at your own school would be appropriate.
By seannettaPremium member
On Tue Dec 11, 2012 11:33 PM