Forum: Teaching Assistants

Assitants--do you assist as a volunteer or are you paid?
By BreaMae91
On Wed Feb 27, 2013 05:33 PM

I am just genuinely curious. I began assisting in classes at the age of thirteen, and I continued until I graduated from high school. All of the assisting I did was purely volunteer, meaning I was paid nothing, but I absolutely loved every minute of it! At the studio that my five younger siblings attend now the assistants are hired employees who are paid. At another studio that I was recently looking into teaching at the assistants are volunteers. However, they do receive a discount on their monthly tuition (I would think that would be more of a reward for their parents though!).

So what about you? If you are an assistant are you compensated for your time? If you are a teacher or studio owner do you pay your assistants? After having more than nine years of experience teaching as both an assistant and actual teacher I have been dabble with the idea of beginning my own studio (though not anytime soon as I'm finishing up school), so I am just curious the different ways I could handle this in the future.

Thanks!

19 Replies to Assitants--do you assist as a volunteer or are you paid?

re: Assitants--do you assist as a volunteer or are you paid?
By RosettaPremium member
On Wed Feb 27, 2013 05:45 PM
I was a student assistant from 6th grade-12th grade. It was a volunteer position. However, I did get a small gift an the end of each year from my teacher as a "thank you."
By CarabosseKPremium member
On Wed Feb 27, 2013 06:16 PM
I do not pay my assistants.

They get priority in casting for ballets and special recognition in the program at the show.
By SharonDet
On Wed Feb 27, 2013 08:05 PM
I was never paid to assist but the teacher training I received from all the assisting I did was priceless!
By Kettricken
On Wed Feb 27, 2013 08:22 PM
I was never paid, but for every class I demonstrated, I was able to take a class of that level or lower for free.