Forum: Ballet / Advanced & Professional Ballet

Advanced & Professional Ballet
Re-occurring psoas injury... what should I do?
By toji_667member has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 322, member since Sun Sep 28, 2008
On Fri May 10, 2013 01:52 PM

So I've torn my psoas muscle twice now, and had other problems with my psoas. The first time was in the winter of 2010/11 and I never stopped dancing to let it heal, save for a two week winter break, because I was under contract. The next winter I had more trouble with my psoas and now this winter, I tore it again. Luckily, this year I am not under contract and was able to take 3 months off of dance in order to heal. This is so lucky because this time the injury was much worse, much more painful. I want to have a career in dance, ballet is my life - I've been dancing for 15 years now - but people not in the dance world keep telling me to give up because of this injury. What should I do? Is it unreasonable to persue ballet professionally? Can I heal from this completely and not deal with it anymore? Is there a good way to prevent this injury while still getting to dance?

8 Replies to Re-occurring psoas injury... what should I do?

re: Re-occurring psoas injury... what should I do? (karma: 1)
By RosePremium member Comments: 9216, member since Sat Dec 30, 2006
On Fri May 10, 2013 02:24 PM
Is your doctor familiar with dancers? Does he treats them often? Does he understand that dance is not 'just a job'?
If not, find such a doctor!!! Take HIS advice serious.
Do not listen to anyone outside the dance world. They 'just don't understand' us.
re: Re-occurring psoas injury... what should I do?
By greenpumpkinmember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 2214, member since Thu Dec 20, 2007
On Fri May 10, 2013 03:52 PM
If you don't like what someone has to say... narrow your field of view to people with exactly the same perspective as yourself.