Forum: General / Homework Help

Homework Help
Struggling with Excel formula, 48 hours
By Panda_Bear Comments: 410, member since Tue Feb 02, 2010
On Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:29 PM

I need help with finding and using the right formula in Microsoft excel to find out if data meets 2 criteria. It is for a 4 th year university geography of food course. My background is in geographic information systems and geography. I am working with about 400 records in my data table. I am looking for a formula that check to see if a record is with in a specific city and meets my type requirement. I have 15 possible types that it could be. I have my possible types across the top / x-axis and my cities on my vertical / y-axis. What formula would I use and how do I apply it to get the results I need to do my analysis?

Thanks for your help.

4 Replies to Struggling with Excel formula, 48 hours

re: Struggling with Excel formula, 48 hours
By panicmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 11592, member since Thu Dec 16, 2004
On Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:27 PM
If I understand you correctly, your table is set up inefficiently. You shouldn't use a separate column for each possible type. You could have one column for city and a second column for type. And in the Type column, you could have a comma-separated list of types for each city. Then you can use a substring search or an auto-filter to determine if each city is associated with a particular type.

In any case, it sounds like what you want is a filtered list and not a formula. Although it would really help if you could post the spreadsheet.
By YumYumDoughnutPremium member Comments: 8688, member since Sat Jul 10, 2004
On Wed Oct 30, 2013 11:46 PM
Take a screenshot of the spreadsheet and post it. I ended up getting a minor in Decision Sciences, and this kind of stuff is the things I worked with.
By Panda_Bear Comments: 410, member since Tue Feb 02, 2010
On Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:20 AM