Forum: Gym / Gymnastics

What are the skills a girl who just turned 4 should have?
By twirlermom103
On Thu Oct 31, 2013 06:36 PM

My 4 year old can put herself onto the bar and lift her legs and touch the bar while handing. She is getting better at her cartwheels and backbend kick overs with help. She can do forward and backward rolls. She can do handstands, handstand straddles, and handstands over into a bridge. She can kick her leg up toward her face and hold it. She can also put up her leg to her head from behind and beside her.

What else should she know? Or what should she try next?

6 Replies to What are the skills a girl who just turned 4 should have?

re: What are the skills a girl who just turned 4 should have?
By AlwaysOnStagePremium member
On Thu Oct 31, 2013 08:43 PM
Being a dance teacher, I think you should make sure you're putting effort into exposing her to dance skills. If you are hoping for her to continue with gymnastics (and most gymnastics classes I've seen don't stress dance skills in their preschool classes) then she can have a leg up in arm coordination, footwork coordination, leaps and turns if she is exposed to the skill sets early. I work with gymnasts who have never taken a dance class until 10 and their scores suffer because they lack artistry, or because they struggle with 1/2 turns, or X, Y, and Z.