Forum: Irish / Irish

Back again, some advice please..
By IzzyIRISH
On Thu Dec 12, 2013 04:26 AM

Back again, I have been dancing for almost 2 months now ive come so far. I’ve learnt the reel, light jig and now hop jig (still practicing to get perfect)

I am back with some more questions to help me with my dancing. I am very grateful for everything you have helped me with!

My teacher says I will be learning my slip jig just before Christmas if I perfect my hop jig- The I will be on to heavy’s. I know this is going quick but I used to do Irish for a year plus I do other dances!

Question 1) when I do my jump 2,3’s how do I get height?
Question 2) my turn out isn’t very good at the moment and if I want to compete it will need to be – my left foot is the worst
Question 3) any tips for me when I am taught the slip jig
Question 4) should I buy socks for class? If so why is it important?
Question 5) (UK) for my first feis what should I wear- can I wear makeup? Tan? Eyelashes?
Question 6) (UK) what category I be in for under 17’s as I’ve just started?
7) tips on my hop/single jig

3 Replies to Back again, some advice please..

re: Back again, some advice please..
By IrishLizzymember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Thu Dec 12, 2013 06:53 AM
1) Bring your front leg up high and tuck the back leg quickly. It'll take some core work, too.

2) Turn out comes from the hip so work on rotating your hips, straight then out straight then out. Stretching your hips will help.

3) Slip jig is flowly, so think "graceful" when you're dancing it.

4) I've always worn poodle/bubble socks for class, it's personal preference. Some teachers also prefer their students to wear proper socks, so you may want to check with her/him.

5) I'm not from the UK, but do not wear fake eyelashes and fake tan. Wear minimal makeup and keep your whole look simple.

6) Again not in the UK, but you'd be in beginners, most likely an over category such as 12+ or 14+.