Forum: Teaching Assistants

Student Teacher help!
By Freckleful49
On Wed Jan 01, 2014 04:11 PM
Edited by Freckleful49 (263735) on 2014-01-01 16:12:38
Moved to Teaching Assistants by hummingbird (128773) on 2014-01-01 19:40:15 This really isn't a girls and guys PG thing, ask the other teachers and teachers assistants on the boards how they might be able to help you.

Back Story: I am a 16 year old girl who has been through a lot which has molded into who I am today. I am a student dance instructor at my study and am also a choreographer for our studio's company. I am the oldest student at my studio and have been dancing there for almost 8 years. My schedule is crazy; school for seven hours, and the dance (every day except sunday) for five hours after. I am a total introvert, and have major social anxiety which is one reason why I am so stressed.

Lately, I have been putting in a lot more assisting hours at the studio and the other girls who are in high school have been very snooty about it. Making remarks about how I am the studio favorite and like wise information. The owner of the studio has a complete system for who gets what that has worked very well in the past.

In August I started a new large group number with the company, co-choreographing with the owner, and am being allowed my own place in the dance (owner's decision as well). About four weeks ago, the owner was judging at a competition so I was in charge of running that practice. When we were reviewing the steps about four of the girls completely ignored me and just started talking. When I asked them to join us in the review one of them replied "You aren't our teacher." (there was a team mom supervising the practice, but just ignored the statement.)