Forum: Advice / Modeling & Pageantry

Modeling & Pageantry
Sunburst Pageants?
By Elia_Jay Comments: 33, member since Sun Feb 02, 2014
On Sun Feb 02, 2014 06:35 PM

I was at the mall the other day and I saw a poster for a Sunburst pageant. I had seen these in the past and thought it might be kind of fun, but I have never done a pageant before (and I'm 23), and I can't find much information online about these pageants except regarding babies/little kids, even though you can compete up to age 27.

The one at my mall is at the end of this month, and entry is only like $45. Should I check it out and try it? Any info on this circuit?

6 Replies to Sunburst Pageants?

re: Sunburst Pageants?
By YumYumDoughnutPremium member Comments: 8688, member since Sat Jul 10, 2004
On Sun Feb 02, 2014 06:55 PM
Don't do it. They are known in the pageant system as a money maker and cattle call. The winner doesn't even receive the good " prize" but the person selling the most ads gets a trophy. They say they like " natural" but the fake tans seem to win, so it is all over the price.

I recommend that you do the Miss America one. The entry fee is $100, but that gets donated entirely to the charity for the. Children's. Miracle.

It is one of the " fairest" pageants around and you are judged fairly, not the person who raised the most money etc.
I think that every woman should do a beauty pageant at least once in her life. It is SUCH a good experience meeting people, installing confidence, great walking/public speaking practice etc. It has been a very valuable experience for me. Plus, the talent portion is always fun performing, which is why I recommend it over the USA system.

Stay away from Sunburst. They have a horrible reputation
On Sun Feb 02, 2014 07:06 PM
Thanks for the info!