Forum: Advice / Strengthening

Strengthening
Developpes over 90 degrees?
By ModernDancerHere Comments: 11, member since Sat Nov 30, 2013
On Mon Feb 10, 2014 09:34 AM

Try as I may, my developpes refuse to grow higher. My right leg is barely above 90, and my left leg is barely to 90. Mind you all, I have been dancing for 11 years, so it's strange to me why I can't get them higher. I have my over splits, and I do my developpes every day, but I'm seeing no improvement. Does anyone have an idea as to why I can't get them higher?

5 Replies to Developpes over 90 degrees?

re: Developpes over 90 degrees?
By SDRdirector Comments: 8, member since Mon Aug 26, 2013
On Fri Apr 04, 2014 09:36 AM
Hello!

I have students who have the SAME problem as you do. I have three suggestions because it sounds like you are focusing too much on developpes. You need to do other things as well because it will help those muscles that much more.

(1) Fondus. Start by doing a fondu par terre, then do a fondu to 45 degrees, then a fondu to 90 degrees, and on the last one try to pull up with your thigh as high as you can. Make sure you are engaging all of your muscles and turning out to develop the strength of all muscles.

(2)Adagios. In your adagios developpe to the front and hold for atleast 8 counts, carry to the side and back holding the same amount of time.

(3) Grand Battements. I like to have my students do two battements flat foot (each two counts) then two battements on eleve (each two counts). Then we do four quickly at one count each on the last one hold it suspended in the air.

Hope this helps!
~E
On Fri Apr 04, 2014 03:49 PM
Thanks! I'll try doing those exercises!
By hummingbird Comments: 10419, member since Mon Apr 18, 2005
On Fri Apr 04, 2014 09:39 PM