Forum: Adults / College

College
Getting a second degree? Advice needed.
By YumYumDoughnutPremium member Comments: 8688, member since Sat Jul 10, 2004
On Sat Mar 01, 2014 09:42 AM

1. I have a great community college near me that I already have an A.A from.
2 I have a BS degree in Business.

I want to work more with children in public schools, preschools and possibly become a teacher. I currently teach dance everyday for at least 4 hours a day, and I absolutely LOVE teaching and children.

In order to work at schools, I would need some sort of child development degree or in a related field.

Should I look into masters programs, go back for another College degree, or go to my community college for a degree? I live in California. I don't even know where to start.

9 Replies to Getting a second degree? Advice needed.

re: Getting a second degree? Advice needed.
By Meganmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 12956, member since Wed Mar 17, 2004
On Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:02 AM
Where I live, when you already have a BA or BS you can take a two-year after-degree program to get your BEd and teach. It just has the actual education classes without any extras and then your professional terms (two student teaching periods at different schools.) Here, as long as you have enough courses in your BS or BA to count for an education major and minor (like with what I took, I could have Spanish or French as either and also a history minor if I wanted.)

I don't know about California, but here that would be the fastest way to a bachelor of education, which is what teachers need here.
By Munkensteinmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 14381, member since Mon Aug 11, 2003
On Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:18 AM