Forum: Ballet / Pointe - General

Should I do it on pointe? Or flat?
By MeaMSBMD
On Fri Mar 07, 2014 04:36 PM

Hi, my French teacher asked me if I would perform a variation for the French honor society's induction ceremony. I'm not in the honor society, as I'm a sophomore and ineligible, but it sounds fun, so I think I'll do it. I'm doing Swanhilda, act 1 variation, from Coppelia, as I know it best, but I'm not sure whether to wear flat or pointe shoes. Usually, I'd be more comfortable just doing it on flat, but this particular variation feels more natural on pointe. But, it will be on the school auditorium stage, which is black-painted wood and we wouldn't be able to put Marley on top. I'm worried about my shoes turning black and the stage being safe to dance on pointe.

7 Replies to Should I do it on pointe? Or flat?

re: Should I do it on pointe? Or flat?
By SilverGreyDancermember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Fri Mar 07, 2014 07:22 PM
Yes your shoe will turn black! Most stage floors are painted with a flat black paint. the flat black paint will provide a lot of traction so you probably won't slip. However you should check the stage floor before accepting this honor.
By greenpumpkinmember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Mon Mar 10, 2014 01:31 PM
Definitely do it on flat. Too many risks en pointe in such an uncontrolled environment.
By majeremember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Mar 10, 2014 02:22 PM
It will get black on your shoes for sure. I know from experience. I college we never rented or own marley for the stage, and the theatre people always painted it for their shows and then back to black for ours. All of my shoes :(

It would probably not be slippery, but you could always bring rosin.
By greenpumpkinmember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Mon Mar 10, 2014 07:40 PM