Forum: Irish / Irish - Adult Dancers

Coming back to dance after a pregnancy-please share your stories!
By Fionna
On Tue Apr 01, 2014 04:41 AM

Hi everyone,

As in the title - could you share your stories, experiences, difficulties etc ? I'm expecting a baby and planning to start dancing again as soon, as I recover after the delivery, so around September/October.
I've been dancing for over ten years, competing too, and ending with intermediate/open level.

Do you have any suggestions what to begin with to avoid/minimize the ( "oh my, I can't do the fast turn/trebles etc") very frustrating part of starting again? ;)

7 Replies to Coming back to dance after a pregnancy-please share your stories!

re: Coming back to dance after a pregnancy-please share your stories!
By JenBlackerbymember has saluted, click to view salute photos
On Tue Apr 01, 2014 08:06 AM
I went to a week intensive dance workshop about 2-3 months pregnant. I had to take it easy/sit out some but still enjoyed it.
Competed in novice/prizewinner at 4 months. Had to suck in my belly :D lol. I was really out of breath but actually did really well.
Stopped after that because I got so big so fast.
Came back about 2-3 months after baby (some people can start a lot sooner but I had a lot of stitches :-/ )
I was really weak when i came back, so if you can do something to stay active it will really help. By about 1 yr after was starting to place in prizewinner again. Two years after and my dancing was well beyond what it ever had been!

I have found my body doesn't work the same. Flexibility and abs vanish instantly if I stop working on it, and those were two things that always came easy for me.
By Fionna
On Thu Apr 03, 2014 01:59 PM
Edited by Fionna (125960) on 2014-04-03 14:00:10 spelling
It's nice to hear that after a year you were in form again :)