Forum: Competitions

Company Team Structure
By tutsiecutsie
On Sat May 03, 2014 05:55 AM

Hello..

I just took over a studio that I have been working at for the past 8 years. I am hoping to restructure our company teams for the Fall. I want to enter the girls in more competitions but also hire a competition coach.

In the past girls werent charged an extra fee for company if they were enrolled already in a Ballet and Jazz class.

I am looking for other ways that owners/studio have their company teams structured. Can everyone be on team? Is it an extra class on the schedule? And if so, do you charge a full hour or half hour extra?

I dont want to change too much, too fast but I definitely want to do something to cover the costs of hiring this new coach.

Any advice is appreciated!

4 Replies to Company Team Structure

re: Company Team Structure
By kashmirjayPremium member
On Sat May 03, 2014 11:28 AM
Edited by kashmirjay (233242) on 2014-05-03 11:29:21
There are a million and one ways to structure these classes, which can make it difficult to find a way that works for you.

Our competition team is by audition only (and not every one makes it), then they attend separate classes because we do still have rec students. Some kids are in only competitive tap, while others are in everything.

There are "pre-requisites" for some competitive classes ie: musical theater must be taken with a jazz, even if the jazz is recreational. ALL students are required to take ballet. There is also a mandatory stretch and technique class for everyone.

They pay regular tuition for their classes, the same as everyone else, and the classes are the same length.

They pay a deposit fee at the beginning of the year which covers props and extra rehearsal time in the spring. This varies per student, depending how many competitive classes they are in.