Forum: Highland / Highland - Adult Dancers

Highland - Adult Dancers
Becoming Self Taught
By KimberleyTheresa Comments: 8, member since Wed Nov 13, 2013
On Wed May 07, 2014 06:08 AM

Hello all :)

I'm wondering if it's possible for a complete beginner (such as myself) to become a self taught highland dancer?

If so, great! Can I ask for help?

Where can I find informative videos/posts on teaching myself?

How do you all practise at home?

What do you never go a day without practising?

Apologies for all these questions, thanks :)

8 Replies to Becoming Self Taught

re: Becoming Self Taught
By ScottishLilt Comments: 46, member since Tue Oct 01, 2013
On Wed May 07, 2014 07:36 AM
Hello :)

I think its possible to learn the steps through videos- there is a series on Youtube made by Kira Cogswell (I believe) who teaches the steps to the Fling and Sword, I believe. There are also so many highland dance videos on Youtube now that I'm sure if you watched enough you would be able to mimic the steps.

However, having a dance teacher is important to watch and give corrections to make sure you're doing the steps properly, so if you have any ambitions of competing, you would need a teacher in order to be successful. Dance teachers are also important in order to make sure you are doing the moves properly so as not to injure yourself.

I teach dance several times/week, so I don't necessarily practise at home, but I do like to bust out a dance every now and again and I stretch every night.

Hope this helps!
By LingScot Comments: 1036, member since Sat Apr 09, 2005
On Wed May 07, 2014 02:27 PM
You might find this thread helpful:

www.dance.net . . .