Forum: Ballet / Pointe - General

Pointe shoe recommendations please?
By kellyballetviol
On Wed May 07, 2014 07:29 AM
Edited by kellyballetviol (261157) on 2014-05-07 07:34:05

Hi! I'm Kelly and I've been dancing for the past 4-5 years. I've been on pointe for the past year. I'm trying to find a good pair of pointe shoes that will look good on my feet but won't die really quickly (my first pointe shoes: Capezio Contemporas died in less than 4 months, which was really annoying, even though they broke in really quickly). Currently, I take 2 pointe classes a week for 45 minutes each but our teacher also tells us to practice at home but I just do really basic releves and echappes (no turns), which would take around 60 minutes per week.

Toe configuration: somewhat tapered
Toe length: long
Arch height/strength: medium, flexible-ish, strong
Foot width: medium-wide
Instep height: medium
Any special foot issues: small bunions and bunionettes, moderately compressible feet

Thanks!

11 Replies to Pointe shoe recommendations please?

re: Pointe shoe recommendations please?
By ElleMcG
On Wed May 07, 2014 08:33 AM
I would say a slightly tapered box and a high vamp (long toes). Not sure what your profile is - when you stand, how high is the top of your foot... Metatarsal area from the floor. sound like Grishko 2007's would be worth a try... Medium or hard shank - they also make Nova's and Dream Pointe which are made on the same last (mold) as 2007's with slight variances. Russian Pointe Saphir might also be worth checking out.

if you are really doing pointe 2.5 hrs a week... It is not uncommon to go through a pair every 3-4 weeks, especially with strong feet - so ... Just sayin'!
re: Pointe shoe recommendations please? (karma: 1)
By SharonDet
On Wed May 07, 2014 01:18 PM
Find a fabulous pointe shoe fitter and go from there. 4 months for the amount of time you are dancing seems quite reasonable for shoe breakdown to me. I'm surprised they lasted that long!
By hummingbird