Forum: Adults / College

College
Completing minor into a major post-graduation?
By Kekoamember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 8949, member since Sat Jul 19, 2003
On Sun May 25, 2014 02:26 PM

Anyone know if it's possible? I graduated May 2013 with my bachelor's. My minor was in history, and unbeknownst to me until it was too late, I was only two classes short of having that minor be a second major. I am still enrolled in the same university for graduate school, and my final semester (this fall) will be a light one. It would be wonderful if I could finish those two classes and graduate with my history BA as well.

Obviously there may be some difference between schools, and I already emailed the history department. Alas, the holiday weekend is driving me crazy and I thought I'd turn here and see if anyone had any working knowledge or experience with this.

5 Replies to Completing minor into a major post-graduation?

re: Completing minor into a major post-graduation?
By Teamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 1321, member since Mon Apr 14, 2008
On Sun May 25, 2014 02:40 PM
Typically, you cant be enrolled as both a Graduate and Undergraduate at the same time, which is the only hang up I see in your plan. At my school, a second Bachelor degree can be earned if you reapply after graduation for a Dual Baccalaureate. Once accepted, you just take whatever classes you need for the second degree.
By Kekoamember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 8949, member since Sat Jul 19, 2003
On Sun May 25, 2014 02:44 PM
Tea wrote:

Typically, you cant be enrolled as both a Graduate and Undergraduate at the same time, which is the only hang up I see in your plan. At my school, a second Bachelor degree can be earned if you reapply after graduation for a Dual Baccalaureate. Once accepted, you just take whatever classes you need for the second degree.