Forum: Irish / Irish - Beginners

Irish - Beginners
The talent and feises thing
By Hungarydances90 Comments: 3, member since Thu Jun 19, 2014
On Thu Jun 19, 2014 01:52 PM

Hi everyone.
So i recently went to a feis and didnt do very well (it was horrible) and it was my first feis. I am an adult beginner and honestly, i am not very talented. I am not anti-talented or something but i was not born to do this and it rarely looks good. So i really dont feel like going to feises anymore and getting disapointed all over again but my school is very competitive and so are everyone in it and they have been trying to convince me to keep compeeting? I just dont want to get disapointed many times and give up. So what do you think? How do you feel about feise?

15 Replies to The talent and feises thing

re: The talent and feises thing
By StrattonBlack Comments: 59, member since Mon Apr 22, 2013
On Thu Jun 19, 2014 05:19 PM
I'm the mom of a dancer, but I would say at least try one more. My daughter can go to one feis and bring home five medals and two trophies. She can go to the next and bring home one fifth place out of seven dances with no other placements. A lot of it depends on how well she's rested, eaten, her 'rituals' have been followed that day, if she's hydrated, etc. So it may have just been an off day...try one more! Best of luck to you!! :)
By essie1 Comments: 4, member since Thu Apr 10, 2014
On Thu Jun 19, 2014 05:59 PM