Forum: Irish / Irish - Beginners

Irish - Beginners
Having faith after being put down
By GreenDoll Comments: 2, member since Fri Aug 15, 2014
On Fri Aug 15, 2014 05:35 PM

I am an adult beginner (22) in an adulg beginners class. So i have this thing on my mind for a little bit while but a few days ago it completely destroyed me. The fact is, i am not very talnted. And thats fine, it doesnt really bother me that much. I faced ill never really go to feises much and stuff like that. But a few days ago my techer pretty much told me i am not talented and ill never dance well. Not in those words exactly but he did (there is no doubt in what he meant to say). And now i have no idea what to do. I really do feel like quiting dance because i dont really feel ill ever dance and that will ever look even decent. Did you have people saying you that? Did you ever feel that way? What did you do and what do you think i should do?

5 Replies to Having faith after being put down

re: Having faith after being put down
By GannTheGloriousmember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 457, member since Tue Aug 28, 2012
On Fri Aug 15, 2014 08:09 PM
You're just starting! No one was good when they were first starting, yeah it clicks sooner with some people, but no one is good as an absolute beginner.

If your teacher really did tell you that you will never dance well, honestly that sounds like a crummy teacher. One option is to stay where you are and let your haters be your motivators, or you can transfer, you could try to find a more positive environment. If a teacher is making you feel like quitting, you really don't need to waste your time with that teacher!

For the record, I do love strict teachers, but there's a big difference between "You'll really have to work hard on keeping your arms still if you want to place well" and "Your arms are look garbage because you are untalented."