Forum: Arts / Pets

Pets
No Pets Allowed - Betta fish?
By Puffin Comments: 28, member since Mon Dec 10, 2012
On Thu Nov 20, 2014 09:04 AM
Edited by Puffin (255529) on 2014-11-20 09:52:15 Contradicting myself

I'm having a bit of a dilemma, and I'm hoping for some input!

I'm a 3rd year university student and I live in a shared house with 4 other people. This semester especially has been very difficult for me because between work and school, I have very little down time to just chill out. I should also add that I am extremely shy and introverted, so being out among people isn't my forte anyway, and my roommates are often away, so I'm home alone the majority of the time. Well, I decided some time ago that I'd like to get a little pet to keep me company during my long study sessions and down time at home.

I contacted my landlord, and was devastated to find out that they "advertise their house as pet-free smoke-free, and want to keep it that way without exception".

My question is, would a Betta fish get me into enough trouble to have me evicted? I've had 2 responses so far: 1. that it's not worth the risk, and 2. to go ahead but be discreet about it. They wouldn't evict me, just tell me to get rid of it.

I'm not exaggerating when I say that I'm going a little nuts, and need something to talk to and keep me company. Even if it's a fish. :)

17 Replies to No Pets Allowed - Betta fish?

re: No Pets Allowed - Betta fish?
By Louisemember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 17315, member since Thu Jun 06, 2002
On Thu Nov 20, 2014 09:47 AM
Can you get animal interaction in some other way - use the free time you spend at home to volunteer at an animal sanctuary, or walk an elderly person's dog or something?
By YumYumDoughnutPremium member Comments: 8688, member since Sat Jul 10, 2004
On Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:50 AM
Did you already ask the landlord specifically for a betta fish? If you did, you can't just play ignorant.