Forum: Ballet / Ballet Intensives

Should I?
By Dancingmunchkin
On Sun Jan 04, 2015 07:13 PM

Should I ask my parents if I can go to CPYB for the summer? I can still register, I'm just not sure if my anxiety can take it. I'm a sophomore in high school, and it would be my first intensive, and I would like to have that experience before I can't go to an SI anymore. I'm a very nervous person, and I don't know if I could muster up the confidence to move away for 5 weeks.

Thank you!

5 Replies to Should I?

re: Should I? (karma: 1)
By Serendipity42Premium member
On Sun Jan 04, 2015 08:05 PM
Yes. The worst thing in the world is to regret something you could have done.

In the 80s, I auditoned for and got into the Penssylvania Governor's School for the Arts summer session.. My parents were even prepared to pay for the summer session - unheard of from them.

I didn't go - for the very same reason you have just given. Fast forward 40 years, I still regret that decision.

Go.
By nycsylphmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Jan 05, 2015 05:13 AM
Agree with Serendipity.

Absolutely try. I would especially say this given it's CPYB you want to attend. It's a fantastic program where you can learn, make friends, work hard and have fun. In fact, you should write down all the positives and negatives and I'll bet the positives will far outweigh whatever your fears are about attending.

Always push beyond your comfort zone. It's how you overcome what you believe are your limitations. It's scary, but it's how we mature and develop into better versions of ourselves.

Let us know how it goes. :)
re: Should I?
By umbrellamanmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Mon Jan 05, 2015 06:02 AM
If you are serious about becoming a ballerian, I think you should do it. Go after your dreams :)
By carlyeeeeee
On Thu Jan 08, 2015 07:48 AM