Forum: Ballet / Costumes

Costumes
Covering up tattoos for recital?
By lorna_doonemember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 1532, member since Tue Sep 12, 2006
On Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:00 AM

Hi! I'm an Irish dance teacher who was recruited this past year to teach some very beginner ballet classes at the studio I work at. This year for our show we are doing Cinderella and the studio owner would like me to play the part of the Stepmother. There is more acting than dancing since I am not an experienced ballet dancer.

All this to say, I have a sleeve on my left arm and a large tattoo on my right forearm. The costume the studio owner chose is short sleeve with organza sleeves. Obviously she is not going for the look of a tatted-up stepmother :P

Does anyone have any experience with covering up tattoos for performances? I was thinking of possibly buying a child's pair of nude-colored tights and cutting them to wear only on my arms? Or possibly wearing a long sleeve, nude colored leotard underneath the costume? I wouldn't want it to be too hot though.

Thanks for your suggestions!

10 Replies to Covering up tattoos for recital?

re: Covering up tattoos for recital?
By Sumayah Comments: 6875, member since Wed Nov 12, 2008
On Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:18 AM
It's expensive but I've heard really good things about Kat Von D's tattoo cover-up. You might check it out.
By ArySnyder77 Comments: 2, member since Sat Jan 24, 2015
On Sun Jan 25, 2015 03:06 PM
I have never covered anything that large but I use Glamoflauge and then a powder over it when I cover mine. Pinterest also has a lot of great ideas on how to cover them! Good luck!
By magdalenemember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 427, member since Fri Apr 27, 2007
On Tue Jan 27, 2015 09:13 AM
the tights trick works very well, you can even just cut the crotch out and you wear it as a crop top.