Forum: Competitions

Any Advice? I'm starting a competition!
By fortheloveofit27
On Mon Jan 26, 2015 06:49 AM

Hello everybody!
I am 22 years old and I am in my first year of a two-year graduate program. My ambition is to create a dance competition, which I have been planning for years and years, and I think it's time that I got some advice!
I realize how much work it is to start a business, let alone a touring one, which is why I am leaving myself several years for planning and such. I have all of these ideas and dreams, as well as a business plan, a lawyer and an accountant lined up, but I was hoping to get some advice from dancers, teachers, directors, judges, competition owners, parents - basically anyone involved in the competition industry.
I am not afraid of hard work, in fact I live for it, and I am ready to work hard for my dream.
Oh - by the way, I am a dancer and instructor/choreographer. I'm also new to dance.net so I'm very excited to meet you all!
Have a great day and happy dancing,

fortheloveofit27 :)

7 Replies to Any Advice? I'm starting a competition!

re: Any Advice? I'm starting a competition!
By AlwaysOnStagePremium member
On Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:34 AM
I guess the first thing I look at when I hear about competitions is "what makes you special". Or, to look at it from the standpoint of the teachers entering their teams...why would they want to go to your competition instead of the competitions they already go to. You can have a functional business model, but if you enter a market where they already have that particular model...you'll still go out of business. Part of your plan has to be "the thing" or "the style" that makes people want to come to you instead of your competitor.
By fortheloveofit27
On Mon Jan 26, 2015 03:35 PM
Thank you for the advice!
I was thinking about my "gimmick" (for lack of better word), but yes I agree with you. I think in the competition industry its all about being different. Thanks for the reply!
By DaDancingPsych