Forum: Disco / Disco Advice

Disco Advice
New To Comps, Advice Please! (U16 Beginners)
By DanceAlways123 Comments: 5, member since Tue Jan 27, 2015
On Tue Jan 27, 2015 03:40 PM

I'm new to freestyle competitions, not a clue what to expect, and I have some questions and also just need basic advice from people who have experience. PLEASE.
1) What is a solo spot? (I have a vague idea, just looking for clarification)
2) What do the judges look for in a dancer?
3) Will there be many people in my category? (U16 Beginners)
4) What do I do if I'm shy/nervous?
5) What make up and hair do I do as a beginner?
6) Should I get my hopes up to place? How hard is it?
7) Do I have to fake tan? (I really don't want to, does everyone do it though?)

4 Replies to New To Comps, Advice Please! (U16 Beginners)

re: New To Comps, Advice Please! (U16 Beginners)
On Wed Jan 28, 2015 09:49 AM
Please guys! I really need some help <3 Just a few words would be awesome.
By xxkirstyxxmember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 1309, member since Sun Jun 15, 2003
On Wed Jan 28, 2015 01:42 PM
Hi Hun. I'm a teacher and an ex dancer so ill try and help.

1. Solo spot is a dance on, that's the 20sec dance the champs do on their own. Only champs and prems do theses no fast and slow so don't worry. You shouldn't have to do one of these just yet.

2. Judging is very subjective. I judge, and what I prefer in a dancer is sometimes not what the next judge likes. So it's tough. But generally I'd say most judges want clean tidy moves, pointed toes, straight legs in kicks, nice personality and lots of effort.

3. In my experience there usually not loads of u16 beginners, this is in the North East, usually there's around the 6-10 mark.