Forum: Teaching Assistants

How do you remember A LOT of names?
By DanceFreak8
On Tue Feb 03, 2015 05:49 PM

Names are my worst enemy! I can't remember all of the students names! I assist 2 classes and teach 1. And I need to know all of there names before March! (I have over 60 students to assist/teach) Please let me know how to remember Peolples names! Thanks!

14 Replies to How do you remember A LOT of names?

re: How do you remember A LOT of names?
By Theresamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Tue Feb 03, 2015 08:49 PM
So I'm just going to say one thing - if you've got three classes, and over 60 kids, your studios class sizes are far too large. FAR. TOO. LARGE. With the exception of technique classes, we never run a class larger than 10 kids. :O

That said, I'm not good at names either. My strategy is to always apologize in advance (cause I know it's annoying when someone can't remember your name, I'm no dummy...), and use their names. A lot. Even if you're wrong. I don't have any weird name combinations this year, but two years ago I had Madison and Addison in a class, and last year I had Malayna and Elayna. I had to purposefully say Elayna wrong all year, because if I said it right, she'd never answer me, but Malayna would! Elayna, apparently, is pronounced "Ah-layna", and Malayna is "Mah-layna". Point of that being, I got their names wrong, lots. But I kept using them. And now they're stamped in my brain. :)
By hummingbird
On Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:24 PM
Always take a roll call at the beginning of class, make sure you write something next to the name that'll help you remember who they are and don't be afraid of making mistakes and asking them what their name is as the class goes on. If you do make a mistake own up to it, never try to pretend it didn't happen.

I agree with T though, those classes are too large for dance, you're not going to be able to see anything properly with that many kids jumping around.
By kr_WDance