Forum: Ballet / Ballet Intensives

Washington vs. Bossov SI
By dreamsofdevelope
On Thu Feb 05, 2015 10:15 AM

I recently was accepted to the Washington Ballet Summer Intensive and I think I would really like to attend, but I had a few questions. (Bossov is also one of my choices and if anyone has attended Bossov's SI I would love to hear about the experience). I know Washington Ballet is not a top tier summer intensive, but is it challenging and does it help you improve a lot? I really want to be a professional dancer after high school (I'm currently a sophomore) and I just want to make sure that Washington is a good summer intensive before I go there. If anyone has been there recently, what was the daily schedule like? How small were classes? And did you make a lot of improvement over the summer? I would really appreciate any thoughts on the intensive, thank you!

1 Replies to Washington vs. Bossov SI

re: Washington vs. Bossov SI
By catedancer
On Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:06 PM
I went last summer (I was 14) and it was a great intensive! Depending on your level, you have morning ballet/Pilates starting between 9-9:30 for 1 1/2 - 1 3/4 hours. Normally there would be a pointe/variations/pas de deux class. Lunch would come next, although sometimes you may have another class, or even a short break. After lunch, there are two more classes. either have repertoire or another pointe/variations/ pas class and a jazz/modern/flamenco class. Classes normally ended around 4:30-5:30 but sometimes the schedule was really weird. The schedule is totally different for each level. There were about 22 people in my level (level 6) and I'd say there might have been 30 at the most in a level (level 5). I think I improved a lot over the summer and definitely would consider it again for the summer. You had one teacher that taught most of your levels ballet classes, but you received instruction from all of the faculty. Dress code is your basic black leotard and pink tights.