Forum: Advice / Emergency

Emergency
Acceptable to call professor by the name he calls himself? (ASAP please)
By SwordInStone Comments: 192, member since Thu Aug 11, 2011
On Wed Feb 18, 2015 11:17 AM
Edited by SwordInStone (239239) on 2015-02-18 11:25:54
Edited by SwordInStone (239239) on 2015-02-18 11:28:33

Hello, sorry, I'm sort of panicking right now, and feel free to laugh at the reason, though please do help.

Prof. and I are both twenty-something. I'm a grad student. He's got a doctorate, is very funny and kind, bit awkward and not at all stuck-up. Calls himself Chip in the emails, and if he wasn't my professor I'd call him Chip as well, but his emails are so casual that I don't feel right addressing him as Dr. Wotshisname in the replies. I mean, we're both kids, you know. He's a million times smarter, but we're both awkward young fellahs trying to figure things out, and if we had run into each other outside the university setting, we might have been friends. Drinking buddies, even. So if I were to call him Professor Chip or Dr. Chip, is that acceptable? What if I were to take it a bit further and call him prof. Chip?

There's this other girl (phd student) whom I also call by name, but she doesn't have a nickname. I just call her Professor Triinu in emails, and everyone's happy. Can't just say Professor Charles, though, since everyone calls him Chip, so who am I to call him Charles, right.

Of course I'm going to be polite and formal and all, only it feels a bit weird to use the full title since, well, c'mon, he signs his emails as Chip. All five emails so far signed as Chip. I feel like if I called him Dr. Wotshisname it's be like saying I don't appreciate the uh, casualness, see.

So, yeah. Can I call him prof. Chip? Or does it have to be Professor Chip? Or Dr. Chip?

Much obliged if you can help, really. Thanks in advance in case I die of awkwardness before being able to get back to you.