Forum: Ballet / Pointe - Beginners

Page:
Page 1 of 21 2
Pointe - Beginners
Sure she's young...
By BalletSwan Comments: 34, member since Mon Mar 02, 2015
On Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:49 AM
Edited by BalletSwan (272770) on 2015-03-05 11:57:37 Pictures

I have been dancing pointe for about five years. I was eight.

My sister is adopted. I know some of the comments will say it doesn't matter but I feel it's necessary to say that. My mother and father both did ballet. My grandparents on both sides did ballet.

So I come from all that pressure and talent and body types. I've got high arches and flexible and strong ankles. I'm not necessarily slim but I do have muscle so it was possible for me and my biological family to start pointe as early as eight or nine. That's why I point out that she's adopted and has a different body type.

My sister is being pressure to start pointe. She's eight but I don't think she's ready personally. She's got her pointe shoes and my teacher has got her in pre pointe classes.

I'm not trying to make her feel bad or bring her down but should I go to my teacher and recommend that she be taken out because of her still weak ankles. Her feet are quite nice however.

Pictures of her on my profile. All of them are of her.

33 Replies to Sure she's young...

re: Sure she's young... (karma: 1)
By Theresamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 34891, member since Wed May 22, 2002
On Thu Mar 05, 2015 12:03 PM
No, don't go to the instructor. Having a lot of people in your family that have done ballet is awesome, but it doesn't make you an expert, and it doesn't put you in a position to question those who are. I've got a lot of people in my family that ride horses - my great gramma used to make pocket money by basically flipping horses. She'd go to the auctions, buy the skinny, underfed ones, spend a little time fattening them up, and resell them at a profit. That doesn't make me a veterinarian.
re: Sure she's young...