Forum: Adults / College

College
Dancing in College
By DanceHeart99member has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 200, member since Mon Nov 21, 2011
On Tue May 12, 2015 07:52 PM

Here goes:

I'm a sophomore in highschool, and I'll be in the LA area over summer so i figured I'd check out some schools down there, and am not sure which ones to visit
I would love to dance in college, but not as my main focus, so a school with very strong academics/humanities but also a strong dance program.
Which schools in that area should I visit?

Also, keep in mind that this is very early on, and since I haven't started that whole process yet, I really have no idea what's out there or where to start

Thank you!

6 Replies to Dancing in College

re: Dancing in College
By hummingbird Comments: 10414, member since Mon Apr 18, 2005
On Tue May 12, 2015 11:25 PM
What style of dance are you looking at studying?
By DanceHeart99member has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 200, member since Mon Nov 21, 2011
On Wed May 13, 2015 10:30 PM
Hummingbird, I'm primarily interested in modern but I don't want my ballet training to go down the drain either, so a school that has both?
By Moonlitefairy06member has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 7177, member since Fri Apr 16, 2004
On Thu May 14, 2015 06:30 PM
I don't know what kind of dance programs they have, but maybe look at UCLA. They have one of the best gymnastics teams in the country with great floor routines and I'm pretty sure some of their gymnasts have studied dance as well. UCLA seems to be good at pretty much everything so I'd look at what they have.
By Heartmember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 15032, member since Thu Feb 14, 2002
On Thu May 21, 2015 01:33 PM