Forum: Advice / Ask a Judge

Ask a Judge
should i switch to this new school?
By lfin22 Comments: 3, member since Sun Jul 19, 2015
On Mon Jul 20, 2015 09:06 PM

SO i have been training at this studio for about 4 years and i've improved a lot. The teachers and other students are great. But because of issues regarding this past recital my parents will not let me stay at my currrent studio. I was in advanced classes along with a bunch of girls that are part of the company (i was not because of school/ work commitments) and some girls were in 18+ dances in the recital, which in my opinion is ridiculous when i was only in 4 and take the same classes. My parents felt very upset because they pay a lot of money to see me dance way less than the other girls. about 90% of the girls i know at the studio are in company, so you can see why i feel like the only one on the backburner.

So, I've been taking summer classes at another local school. And it's okay. My problem is that the girls in my class (advanced ballet, jazz, contemporary )would be classified as intermediate at my old school. I know a lot of girls are away at summer intensives, but im worried i will not improve if their classes go at a slower pace than i'd like. This studio's ballet program is amazing but i feel like they don't put as much effort in other styles.

There is no other studios i would consider going to in my area. i dont want to waste money and register for classes at this studio if im not sure; but i also don't want to be rude and ask the studio owners if the summer advanced classes are the same as the fall/winter/spring session. any ideas on how to talk to the studio owners about my concerns in a polite way?

3 Replies to should i switch to this new school?

re: should i switch to this new school?
By pharmadancermember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 3459, member since Tue Mar 16, 2004
On Tue Jul 21, 2015 07:22 AM