Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Adult Dancers

Ballet Teacher Wants Me To Stretch My Knees?
By LeahStars
On Sun Aug 02, 2015 01:42 PM

Hi guys,

I'm in this ballet class and I have some concerns.

My gut instinct is telling me she is wrong - but she is the teacher and I'm a beginner - so maybe I don't really know what I'm talking about?

In class at the barre - we are going through all of the positions - doing plies, etc. and she notices that my turnout is not a perfect 180.

And she tells me to fix my feet - heels together - so that they are at 180 degrees - and to do my plies that way. But it is so hard to do them that way... I mean I feel twisting in my knees - it hurts a little bit. It is not what I thought it would feel like.

I thought the idea of turnout was that there is no tension in your knees - to rotate only from the hips and not the knees.

She told me that if I wanted to improve I need to stretch the ligaments in my knees to get a comfortable 180 degree turnout.

I always thought that you are not supposed to stretch ligaments - that it might even be dangerous? I mean she walks around class in pain complaining about her "bad knees and back".

What do you think?

I'm thinking about quitting the class... I don't want to risk injury.

She got really mad when I asked her about it. : S

But it is really disappointing because I'm in a small town and this is the only adult ballet class I can find.

9 Replies to Ballet Teacher Wants Me To Stretch My Knees?

re: Ballet Teacher Wants Me To Stretch My Knees?
By majeremember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Aug 02, 2015 01:55 PM
I'm with you on this. If it hurts then don't do it. You should just be working with the turn out you have.
By Serendipity42Premium member
On Sun Aug 02, 2015 07:41 PM