Forum: Irish / Irish - Feiseanna

Irish - Feiseanna
Help - I am new to this and need help buying a dress for my daughter
By LMallaburn Comments: 22, member since Sat Aug 15, 2015
On Sun Aug 16, 2015 05:35 PM

My daughter has been dancing on and off for several years but is becoming more interested and is now competing. She uses her class dress at the moment but we have agreed to buy a dress for her but do not want to spend too much in case it is another fad (although I don't think it is this time). Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

12 Replies to Help - I am new to this and need help buying a dress for my daughter

re: Help - I am new to this and need help buying a dress for my daughter
By Hop_123member has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 4234, member since Sat Feb 03, 2007
On Sun Aug 16, 2015 05:56 PM
Solo dresses can be very expensive. Be prepared for sticker shock if you haven't been looking at prices before!

First thing would be to check with her TC to see if she is allowed to have a dress at her current level, and to see if the TC has any preferences. Some TC's are very particular, some are quite laid back.

Would definitely recommend buying a used dress. There are multiple sites that sell used dresses. You can also go to a feis and try dresses on as a lot of people will bring them there to sell them.

But if you are not sure if it is a "fad" for your dtr, let her keep using her school dress. Many dancers go all the way thru novice in a school dress and it is not unusual to see dancers in PW in a school dress also. A solo dress is NOT required and in fact, in beginner and adv beginner, they aren't allowed (CLRG)

Also if she is in a growing phase, let her get pretty close to outgrowing her school dress before putting more money out before you have to!

Hope this helps some!
On Mon Aug 17, 2015 01:21 AM
Thanks so much for your advice. I am about to sound ignorant again here but what is a "TC"?