Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Adult Dancers

Could I ever go professional?
By Jaemarie015
On Mon Sep 21, 2015 08:49 PM

Hello! I'm 17 years old, a first year college student, and I'm a beginner in ballet. I've been dancing in color/winter guard for two years and I'm fairly good at it, so I have a lot of the basics down. I was wondering if it would be possible for me to ever become a professional ballerina. I know most girls my age are on pointe and auditioning for companies, but this is what I love to do, and it's my passion.Anyone's help and opinion would be greatly appreciated!

8 Replies to Could I ever go professional?

re: Could I ever go professional?
By melissaga
On Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:36 PM
I hope you do realize that you can dance ballet your entire life without becoming a professional. Just as you are in a beginner class at your college (I presume), there are beginner classes and much more in many places. I have danced in adult open classes with teenagers, 20-somethings, all the way up to a woman who must be in her 80's who still wears pointe shoes.

Could a 17 yo beginner become a professional? I suppose nothing is impossible with the right facility, body type musicality and natural ability. You are correct. 17 yo future professional ballet dancers have been dancing en pointe for years. Those who are going to continue are already trainees or about to become trainees. They are dancing 6 days a week for a minimum of a few hours a day by age 17.

You have a very long way to go. Enjoy the journey, keep your expectations realistic and keep dancing.
By majeremember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:20 AM
It is highly unlikely but not completely impossible. At this point in your life I would recommend not to pursue it professionally. Just enjoy it and dance because you love it.
By hummingbird
On Tue Sep 22, 2015 07:08 AM