Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Beginners

Ballet - Beginners
Ballet or no? At 15 years old.
By Oony Comments: 2, member since Thu Dec 31, 2015
On Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:48 PM

I really want to begin doing ballet. I'm turning 15 this year, though, and I'm not sure if I'm too old. I've never done ballet in my life before. I started Irish Dancing last year, though.
I'm kind of nervous to start because I feel like I could be very isolated in a class with lots of children who are quite a few years younger than me.
Equally, I do not have the build of a ballet dancer. I'm not particularly thin, and sometimes I can feel quite insecure about my body.
I think ballet is beautiful though.
So, I guess my question is do you think I should start ballet? And, do you have any tips for me, if so?

9 Replies to Ballet or no? At 15 years old.

re: Ballet or no? At 15 years old.
By melissaga Comments: 323, member since Sun Feb 14, 2010
On Fri Jan 01, 2016 01:29 AM
What are you waiting for?

:)

I know 40 and 50 year old women who have started ballet. Most will say that they had always wanted to try ballet. Just go for it! Some schools will have teen beginner classes. Perhaps there is one near you? If not, just give it a shot. You have nothing to lose.
By hummingbird Comments: 10412, member since Mon Apr 18, 2005
On Sun Jan 03, 2016 07:00 PM
I agree! Get in there and sign up for classes.
By Gaudium Comments: 1366, member since Wed Apr 14, 2004
On Mon Jan 04, 2016 07:12 AM
I agree with Melissaga and Hummingbird if Ballet is your dream sign up today. You should also know that Ballet is a great challenge and requires discipline, strength, balance and grace. Ballet includes traditional barre and centre work designed to build a beautiful, graceful, and healthy body with fine posture and poise. After taking thin into mind and you still feel Ballet is for you, I think you should go for it. Good Luck and enjoy yourself!
By Aurelia123 Comments: 17, member since Wed Mar 21, 2012