Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Beginners

What age do you have to be to partake in an adult class?
By Oony
On Sun Jan 03, 2016 01:35 AM

I was wondering what age you have to be to join in with an adult class, approximately.

I'm 15 years old, and most of the schools near me only offer classes for adults or for (at my age) intermediate to advanced dancers. I have never done ballet before in my life, so obviously, joining these classes would not be an option.

Another type of class I've sometimes seen offered in my research has been open classes. What are open classes?

The adult classes also seem, generally, a lot more easy going. I'm not looking to become a professional dancer, I just want to do it because the style is so beautiful, and it looks like a good way to get exercise.

Do you think I should just keep looking for something, or do you have any other advice?

4 Replies to What age do you have to be to partake in an adult class?

re: What age do you have to be to partake in an adult class?
By majeremember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sun Jan 03, 2016 06:15 AM
You'll have to call and ask. I think many studios would let an older teen take an adult class. I've seen adult ballet classes listed as 16 and older (but also I've seen them listed s 18 and older, or just "adult").
By vivien_o
On Sun Jan 03, 2016 03:04 PM