Forum: Ballet / Pointe - General

Heel Slipping Off
By vivien_o
On Sat Jan 09, 2016 03:13 PM
Locked by vivien_o (267703) on 2016-01-16 17:57:33 Problem solved

I have an issue with the heel of my pointe shoes slipping off--it's gotten to the point where I've cut the heel portion out of my tights because only my bare skin is able to get a grip on the shoes. I've been doing that for a few months now, but it doesn't give the best look en pointe.

Is it an elastic issue? I'm currently using the mesh chacott elastic on my shoes, but it was an issue even before I started using mesh elastic--I had the same thing happen with normal elastic. Could it be the shape of the heel of the pointe shoes? I've got dance exams and auditions coming up and it'd be nice if I could present a more professional look. Would a bit of rosin on the heel of my tights help to grip the shoe better? My teachers all sound really "behind", i.e. my shank was dying and i asked if I could have help jet glueing it but they said that jet glue is only for the box (jet glueing the shank saved the shoes for performance, thank you very much).

Last year, at an audition, I had the heel of my pointe shoe fall off in the middle of a turn combination and I don't know if I should look to find a solution to this or to keep cutting a hole in the heel of my tights.

9 Replies to Heel Slipping Off

re: Heel Slipping Off
By hummingbird
On Sat Jan 09, 2016 05:30 PM
Yes, using rosin on your tights will help hold the heel in? But it might not be enough, only trying it out will tell you if it's enough.

Have you tried elastic sewn from the heel and around the front of your ankle? It's difficult to come up with many more ideas as you don't say how your elastic is sewn on already.

Jet Glue can work on shanks but it does depend on how the shank is degrading.
By balletmom42
On Sat Jan 09, 2016 05:32 PM