Forum: Competitions

Competition Questions: Updated! (Please help)
By iv_loves_pointe
On Fri Jan 15, 2016 05:49 PM

Hi everyone!
I posted on here a while ago regarding my first dance competition. I have a few more questions now that I have received the schedule!

So, I am a dance instructor at my studio (under 20 years old) and I will be competing a tap solo at KAR. My studio does not compete and I am the first one to ever compete. If my studio owner cannot make it with me, am I allowed to check myself in since I am a dance teacher? I listed myself on the KAR website as an instructor as well.

I am scheduled to perform at 1:27 pm Sunday. What time should I arrive?

For awards, does it matter what you wear?

Can I leave after my awards ceremony is over?

Do you go on stage as they announce your name, before, or after (for your entrance)?

Thank you so much! I'm nervous and excited to be competing for the very first time!

5 Replies to Competition Questions: Updated! (Please help)

re: Competition Questions: Updated! (Please help)
By Goldfingers_Girl
On Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:04 AM
As the competitive director and studio rep at my current studio, I have always signed in on behalf of the studio. Are you dancing in the professional division? If so, I'm sure it is acceptable for you to sign in as the studio rep. I, however; have not attended KAR, therefore; not aware of their policies.

I am scheduled to perform at 1:27 pm Sunday. What time should I arrive? Unless the competition has specified when they need your music, you should be fine to drop off the music and sign in a few hours before your scheduled performance time. I ask that my students arrive an hour and a half before their scheduled dance, however; because you are acting as the studio rep, I would suggest you arrive earlier.

For awards, does it matter what you wear? No, usually studios require that their students are in their "studio attire" or at least wearing their studio jacket/hoodie.