Forum: Advice / Recitals & Performing

Recitals & Performing
How to turn down gig offer that is lowballing & unwilling/able to negotiate? (karma: 1)
By sjerosemember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 1263, member since Thu May 11, 2006
On Fri Jan 22, 2016 07:37 AM

I don't know if I need support, or assistance on wording something here. I'm a musician, primarily performing Celtic-style music. While I don't perform much, my gigs are paid. Periodically I'll perform with a friend of mine as a duo, and it seems to go over pretty well in the community.

Last fall, we got asked last-minute to perform at a Pirate festival nearby, as their music act fell through in the eleventh hour and they really needed help. My friend and I decided to do it. However, their budget was less than half of what we normally charge for our rate. We ended up able to negotiate that they'd feed us lunch both days we played and that my husband could also get in free, but that is it. My friend really needed the money, so we did it. It was hot, sunny, and hardly anyone came to watch us (so minimal tips).

I didn't expect much to come out of it (since we don't normally do the ren faire circuit), but we've been asked twice now this year to perform at renaissance events this organization is putting on - one this January, which we turned down due to scheduling conflicts, and again for their larger ren faire this May. But here's the thing: They still want us to perform for less than half our usual rates, and I feel like they're unwilling or unable to haggle. While the exposure would be nice (since we don't play too often), we'd have to drive an hour one-way both days, to play at sets scattered throughout an entire day, for payment that will hardly cover mileage.