Forum: Highland / Highland - Jig

Highland - Jig
Question: Jig shoes too small - Should I stretch them or buy a size up
By plaidbow Comments: 3, member since Thu Jan 28, 2016
On Thu Jan 28, 2016 04:16 PM

I've had difficulty finding a pair of Jig shoes that fit my feet. This isn't terribly surprising, as I've had to try on multiple brands and sizes of ghillies to find a good fit in the past. By way of background, I'm a 30-year-old Novice dancer with one stamp left, preparing for Intermediate. I'm a tiny adult, 5'2" with feet that fit in kids size 3.5-adult size 5.5 (US size) street shoes. With my kid's sized feet, I was hoping to be able to purchase used jig shoes for a decent price. I bought some from a friend in size 4, but the more I practiced in them the more I realized they were quite a bit too large. Fortunately, they fit my sister well and she bought them from me. As the 4's were quite a bit too large, I purchased 2 pairs of size 2's from one of the local teachers, one used practice pair and a nicer new pair for competitions. I thought they fit well, since they fit like new ghillies, but they have proven painfully tight when I attempted to dance in the practice pair. The new pair is even tighter. I Googled stretching tight leather shoes and tired a few things on the practice pair, but I've had no success with wearing them around the house, blow drying them while wearing them with thick socks, or sticking them in the freezer full of Ziplock bags of water. Any suggestions? Is it time to list them for sale and hope a size 3 actually fits me?

2 Replies to Question: Jig shoes too small - Should I stretch them or buy a size up

re: Question: Jig shoes too small - Should I stretch them or buy a size up
By kinsidhe Comments: 248, member since Fri May 14, 2010
On Fri Jan 29, 2016 06:49 AM
Hi,