Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Adult Dancers

Ballet - Adult Dancers
Are demi pointe shoes worth it? And am I ready?
By jaemaie015 Comments: 1, member since Sat Feb 20, 2016
On Sat Feb 20, 2016 12:17 AM

Hi, I'm Jae, I'm 18 and I've been dancing since August of 2015. I had minor dance experience before that, and I did gymnastics recreationally for 7 years before as well.
Honestly, dancing is my passion. I'm double majoring (US College) in English and Dance. I've loved to dance since I was a toddler. I'm currently dancing anywhere between 4-7 hours a week, and working on strength training at home whenever I get the chance.

Anyway, my point is this: I have an insanely absurd goal of being ready to GET pointe shoes by the end of June. I'm going to England then and I'd love to get my pointe shoes there.
My question is this: 1) Could I, in any way, be ready by then? and 2) would demi-pointe shoes be of any use/worth to me? And what would the pros and cons be to getting them, if I should at all?
Thank you so much in advance!

1 Replies to Are demi pointe shoes worth it? And am I ready?

re: Are demi pointe shoes worth it? And am I ready?
By Serendipity42Premium member Comments: 2267, member since Sun Aug 16, 2009
On Sat Feb 20, 2016 04:58 AM
With your background and the amount you are dancing per week, it is likely you will be ready for pointe shoes. Best is to ask your teacher.

Demi pointe shoes are, well, okay to use, I would say. You are not to go up on pointe in them, but they can give you what the pointe shoe would feel like.

Honestly, though, I tried them when I went back into ballet and was so strong I kept going on pointe in them by accident. My teacher told me just to wear real pointe shoes when that kept happening, but I had been dancing for about 20+ years with only a few years off prior to going back.

It really is a personal decision to try demi pointes, however. I don't think it will make that much of a difference in the long run, though.