Forum: Ballet / Pointe - Beginners

Pointe - Beginners
Could the vamp be too high?
By ErinJ_96 Comments: 0, member since Sat Jun 18, 2016
On Sat Mar 19, 2016 02:02 PM

Hi all!

I started ballet 3 years ago as an adult beginner. Our instructor supported our dream of learning pointe as long as we were dedicated and were strong enough to start. I got my pointe shoes back in October and it's been so much fun! Being a beginner, I know it will take time to build up more strength and flexibility in my feet. And I know that it's sometimes a trial and error process to find shoes that work for you.

I am wondering if the vamp on my shoes might be too high. I wear Grishko 2007 Pro Flex; I have long and tapered toes. They're not terrible shoes, but I wouldn't consider them perfect for me. Most notably, I have difficulty doing pique passes down the barre. It's like no matter how much I plie or how strong and straight I keep the leg I step up on, when I try to step up en pointe, I fall down to half pointe. I can't always get over the box. I've also noticed when we roll through our feet from flat to pointe, I will sometimes "pop up" to full pointe-like it's not a smooth roll-through.

Do you think a too-long vamp could be contributing to this or is it just that my beginner ankles need to build up flexibility and strength? My instructor has suggested that the vamp could be too long. And I've considered going ahead and trying a different shoe, but man they are pricey. :)

3 Replies to Could the vamp be too high?

re: Could the vamp be too high?
By Gracie220 Comments: 51, member since Tue Feb 24, 2015
On Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:40 PM
Ugh, pointe shoes are definitely pricey, and it can be a dangerous thing for us adult dancers with our own means of purchasing them lol, unlike when we were kids. ;)