Forum: Ballet / Pointe - Beginners

Pointe - Beginners
New to pointe, difficulty getting over box?
By Odalisque Comments: 6, member since Fri May 20, 2016
On Tue May 31, 2016 02:50 PM

Hi!

I'm new to dance.net so I hope I am posting in the right place! This is going to be long because I hope that by providing details you guys might be able to shed some light on what I am doing wrong.

I am an adult (early 30s) who recently started pointe work. I take 3 90 minute ballet classes a week (M,W,F) with a pointe technique class of 30 minutes following 2 of those (M,F). I started dancing about 10 years ago for 5 years, then stopped for a few years and picked back up again last year. I am a decent dancer technique wise and have a very good "eye" for correct ballet technique, placement, and lines,both my own and other dancers'. I have also read almost every pointe and ballet related technique book that I've been able to find.

So this is why I am finding myself frustrated with pointe work. I can get over my box and balance comfortably in sous-sus or 1st, but in more open positions such as 2nd or 4th, I am never fully on my box. My dance teacher, (who is a former soloist with 2 companies and principal with one, and has 40 years of teaching experience), does not know why. She suggested pointing my feet harder, which changed nothing. Also suggested trying a different shoe, no change. Breaking the shoes in lower down, nothing. I have decent arches and know how to push through the ankle as much as my body permits. I can make a straight line from ankle to big toe joint when I point my bare feet. I use the black (heavy/strong) therabands on my feet with no problems.

The shoes I have so far:
Russian pointe Celesta (best fit), Bloch heritage, bloch serenade (old but not dead, from my first brief stint with pointe years ago), and capezio contemporas.