Forum: Ask a Studio Owner

Taking a 180 with your studio
By stylizedbeauti09member has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member
On Sat Jun 18, 2016 05:53 PM

Hi So's

So I've been debating the topic here for a few months and recently a few actions by my parents make a me think I should take the plunge. Would love some insight and or experiences if anyone's done this.

For the past five yrs I've been a small competitive studio. It seems like every year the drama gets worse and worse. My competitive team is only approx 25 dancers ranging from 9-18. It's as if everyone thinks their kid is the next Misty Copeland and those that I have spend endless dedicated hrs of my time helping to perfect leave me high and dry at the end of the year because they want to go to a bigger studio. It frustrates me because the only reason they have progressed so quickly is the one on one I am able to provide on a daily basis, being so small. But at the end of the day it breaks my heart to see parents so quick to just leave and sometime not even with a thank you for all you've done for my kid... I have just got word that about five or so families may be leaving my team this year because they want more more more. It's stressful and having two babies under 18mo and a new home this is not the type of mind set I want to have constantly about my profession. I have been taking classes and working with a consultant regarding growing our young children's classes and part of me thinks it might be wise (but scary) to completely re vamp the studio, our core message and goals, and our systems. I'm not sure I'll be able to do it for this coming year (too soon) but id love to run up my lease, find a smaller space and re-open the studio specializing in childrens classes. I think this would decrease my stress, allow me to earn more income and most important grow a strong foundation to the studio that I can decide to expand once I have a strong group to progress with.