Forum: Advice / Support

Support
What do you think of this studio and its teachers? Should I stay?
By dancing__girl Comments: 14, member since Tue Oct 11, 2016
On Sat Oct 22, 2016 07:10 AM
Edited by dancing__girl (277861) on 2016-10-22 07:14:45
Edited by dancing__girl (277861) on 2016-10-22 07:18:21

Hi, I have been doing various types of dance for over 20 years. I moved to a big city recently and would like to hear your opinion about my current studio and its teachers. As the end of the month is approaching, I have to decide whether to change studio or not.

Studio
======

- Very big and clean

- Sprung floor

- It offers various kinds of dance

- Teachers are very good dancers. Some of them are champions. However, as we all know, somebody could be a very good dancer but poor at teaching.

- In previous schools, the teachers taught one dance for 2-3 months. Here, they teach new dance every day. I asked the reason, they said that the studio is a "drop in" studio. Not sure what that really means.

- At the end of each class, staff come in to take videos. Most students put their phones by the mirror for recording too. Sometimes staff and teachers post the videos on the website. Girls who like to be on camera love it but I feel pressured/stress. Usually I have no problem as I am used to have crowd surrounding me taking videos/photos of me dancing. However, here I feel differently here. Perhaps it is because I am not familiar with the type of dances I am learning now.

- While some studios do not allow people to watch the class as they could interfere with learning, here the front wall has mirrors but the back wall is made of glasses. People can stay there to watch the entire class.

- There is no rules. People including the teachers wear street shoes to the dance classes. People can join the class anytime they like. Usually there is no problem but one guy always come in late sometimes by half an hour. I lose focus whenever he comes.

Teachers
========