Forum: Ballet / Guys in Ballet

Guys in Ballet
Honest opinion on ladies dancewear
By richardcruz Comments: 4, member since Thu Dec 10, 2015
On Wed Nov 09, 2016 01:59 PM

I've been dancing ballet for many years and once out of curiosity, tried on ladies tights and leotards, and found them much more comfy and practical. ladies tights are lighter and stretchier, much more comfortable than guy's tights. Ladies leotards are worn outside of the tights, holding tights up in place, and you never have to worry about tights sagging down. Plus, ladies leotards outline the connection between body and legs, making it much easier to see body posture and moves.

The concern is the bulging crotch when guys wearing ladies leotards. The issue can be fixed easily with a proper use of dancebelt. When positioned correctly under the dancebelt, guys crotch can be very flat and smooth, just slightly more prominent than a lady. With that modesty, a guy in ladies tights and leotards can look just as good as a lady.

What do you guys think? Any guys have similar experience?

17 Replies to Honest opinion on ladies dancewear

re: Honest opinion on ladies dancewear
By Storm_Trouper Comments: 808, member since Mon May 21, 2012
On Thu Nov 10, 2016 04:21 AM
Never tried.
You talking about rehearsal and classes? Or are you talking about performance wear and costumes?
By SilverGreyDancermember has saluted, click to view salute photos Comments: 192, member since Mon May 17, 2004
On Thu Nov 10, 2016 08:03 AM
Go ahead if you want to but no one will take you seriously and may laugh at you. There are reason for men to dress appropriately for class but if you feel that you want to wear women's stuff go ahead.
On Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:13 AM
I'm talking about in classes. We are not at a professional performance level. Occasionally we have community performances but they are largely in a more modern style with mostly street like clothing.