Forum: Ballet / Ballet - Adult Dancers

Ballet - Adult Dancers
Really struggling with my ballet - can anyone help?
By andiepasdedeux Comments: 1, member since Fri Mar 31, 2017
On Fri Mar 31, 2017 06:06 AM

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here. I'm age 43 and only started ballet a couple of years ago. After doing an informal class for a while, I decided I wanted to take exams, so I joined a different school last summer and started working towards my IDTA grade one ballet exam.

All started well and I'd all but mastered basic moves such as the warm-up, plies, foot exercise, grand degages, grand battement and positions of the arms - so the simpler moves.

Then my teacher left, we took a month off for Christmas and I started back in the new year with a new teacher, who's fabulous but very different from the previous one.

Since then, I've really struggled. We had a lesson about a month ago where I literally couldn't put a foot wrong - everything was perfect and I walked out feeling elated.

But before then and since, I've made so many mistakes and just end up feeling really frustrated at the end. I'm paying £30 for an hour-long private session, so it's not cheap - and I don't want to feel frustrated at the end.

Sometimes I'll forget the moves, or get things in the wrong order. Other times, I know what to do in my head, but my body just won't do what my head says!

So is there anything I can do? Is it all practise, practise, practise, or is there anything else?

I do practise about an hour a week - on the day before my lesson.

I love ballet when I get it right - it makes me feel like I could fly. But that's all too rare. How do I get that feeling more often, instead of the endless frustration.

Many thanks, Andie xxx

4 Replies to Really struggling with my ballet - can anyone help?

re: Really struggling with my ballet - can anyone help?
By SarahdncrPremium member Comments: 634, member since Wed Jul 29, 2009
On Sat Apr 01, 2017 07:10 AM