Forum: Advice / Ask a Parent

Ask a Parent
How and when to choose a new dance studio?
By DanceMom2013 Comments: 1, member since Fri Apr 07, 2017
On Fri Apr 07, 2017 11:18 PM

Hi!

My daughter is 6 yrs old and she's currently in her 4th year of dance, 2nd year of competition dance. She started in NYC after watching a Rockettes performance in person and decided that's what she wants to be when she grows up.

We had an amazing studio there. She grew so well. The teachers were strict, yet patient and it was almost always fun and positive. They won so many awards, they are amazing! I got very lucky with her first studio. I'm not a dancer, I have no experience so I had no idea what I was looking for. I just knew I wouldn't tolerate someone constantly yelling and belittling my daughter. As long as it was fun and she was happy and learning, I was good with it.

We had to move out of state due to my husband's job, and I got her in one of the only studios I could find that would let her audition so late in the year. Big mistake. She loves competing, she lives for that stage performance high. But I found a little bitty newer studio (3 yrs old, 16 girls on Team/Company). It started out good. Then I don't know what happened. They held "evaluations" 2 months in. Every girl was torn down. Told my 6 yr old she's arrogant, not as good as she thinks she is, and really lacks technique. Wanted to move her to baby classes. I was furious. 2 other girls quit that day and several moms were angry. We're in studio 6 days a week, up to 3 hrs a day. I had to fight for several months to get her into private lessons. I really tried.