Forum: Highland / Highland - Costumes

Highland - Costumes
Clan pins as brooch?
By marginalia Comments: 16, member since Tue Apr 11, 2017
On Sun Apr 16, 2017 09:09 PM

I'm an adult beginner that started fairly recently, but I feel like I'm picking it up quickly! I really enjoy the dance, and I love tapping into a large part of my heritage. There's something wonderful about how regal and proud the dances are-- I love the history and tradition.

I'm thinking about starting to compete in the fall, and I'd like to honor my Scottish heritage in some way. I know that in the national dances, you're supposed to wear a brooch to attach the plaid. Instead of paying to have a plaid made out of my clan tartan (though I do plan to do that in the future!) I was hoping I could wear a kilt pin as my "brooch."

Does anyone have any experience with wearing a clan pin as a brooch, and would it be accepted under the SOBHD rules?

Thanks for your insight!

10 Replies to Clan pins as brooch?

re: Clan pins as brooch?
By keltsmama Comments: 16, member since Fri Jun 24, 2016
On Mon Apr 17, 2017 09:44 AM
There are clan pins that are circular and brooch style, rather than a "kilt pin" that you can wear on your shawl. My daughter wears our family crest as her aboyne pin.
By Panda_Bear Comments: 410, member since Tue Feb 02, 2010
On Mon Apr 17, 2017 10:04 AM
I'm an adult dancer who wears a circular clan pin on their shawl. I have seen several other dancers in my area wear them as well. I dance in premier and there are a couple others I can think of that wear the clan broach. The clan broaches seemed more common when I was prepremier.
By Bril Comments: 152, member since Thu Mar 07, 2013
On Mon Apr 17, 2017 03:43 PM
When I'm not chronically broken I dance in premier and also have a round clan broach. It's all metal, no fancy stones or shiny stuff and no one has ever commented on it one way or another.