Forum: Advice / Ask a Parent

Ask a Parent
Switching studios? Pre-pro ballet.
By ClaraDances Comments: 6, member since Tue Jun 20, 2017
On Thu Jun 22, 2017 01:13 AM

Hi! I'm a dedicated ballet student currently dancing at a rec studio. I got into Evergreen City Ballet intensive this summer, and I am starting this Monday! ECB is pre-pro even though alot of the girls that go there aren't wanting to be professional, I would be averaging about 25 hours ballet training per week.

However, right now, I'm very very very happy at my rec studio. I dance 3x per week, but next year I would be moving that up to 5x per week with multiple classes.

I'm torn because I love my rec studio, the artistic director loves me and told me she wants me to be Clara in Nutcracker next year, and to teach the babies once or twice a week. But the new studio performs 4x a year all the way up to 20x a year. They don't know me at the new studio, but they will after the summer.

I just don't know what to do.

3 Replies to Switching studios? Pre-pro ballet.

re: Switching studios? Pre-pro ballet.
By Theresamember has saluted, click to view salute photosPremium member Comments: 34891, member since Wed May 22, 2002
On Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:45 AM
What new studio? Where is there mention of a second studio in this story?
By ClaraDances Comments: 6, member since Tue Jun 20, 2017
On Fri Jun 23, 2017 04:27 PM
I'm sorry I should have made this more clear. The new studio is Evergreen City Ballet, the one I'm going to for my summer intensive. The old studio is the recreational studio I mentioned.
By hummingbird Comments: 10412, member since Mon Apr 18, 2005
On Fri Jun 23, 2017 05:38 PM
I would do the summer intensive first and then make up my mind properly afterwards. I hope this new studio is everything you want it to be and that you do well in the intensive but until that's happened don't make up your mind.